Thursday, September 22, 2022

Now Shipping: BLOODY MARY MORNING and other stories by John Farris

Cimarron Street Books is pleased to bring you the first new book from John Farris in 14 years!

An acknowledged grandmaster of horror, John Farris is the New York Times bestselling author of over forty novels who rarely turned his gimlet gaze to the sharp shocks of short horror fiction . . . until now.

Bloody Mary Morning collects all of his short story output into a single landmark volume of American Southern Gothic terrors — forty years of frightmaking, alternately flaming hot and bone chillingly cold. Step into the parlor and meet the man who gave the world The Fury (basis for the 1978 Brian De Palma film) and All Heads Turn When the Hunt Goes By.

Meet the man Stephen King called “America’s premier novelist of terror. When he turns it on, nobody does it better.”

Includes “horrorshow,” from which sprang the movie No Sin Unpunished in 2019, and the short story that was the basis for “We All Scream for Ice Cream,” most memorably directed for the Masters of Horror series by Fright Night and Child’s Play veteran Tom Holland.

“I did more than just admire his work ― I adopted his career as both a goal to be reached and an example to be emulated.” ― Stephen King

“Farris has a remarkable ability to jab his literary ice pick into the bone marrow. With uncanny reality he depicts raw evil, particularly the sort that masquerades as innocence. It is genuine terror, and Farris provides it with an attribute lacking in the work of most contemporary storytellers ― style.” ― Brian Garfield

“He proves that black print on white paper can literally chill the blood.” ― Springfield News & Ledger

Contents include:

  • A Few Words by the Editor — Introduction by David J. Schow
  • Waiting for Mr. Gillray 
  • The Odor of Violets 
  • horrorshow 
  • Scare Tactics 
  • Talking Heads 
  • I Scream. You Scream. We All Scream for Ice Cream. 
  • Hairshirt 
  • Good Morning, Daddy 
  • More Than Mischief 
  • Storytime with the Bluefield Strangler 
  • Here’s Looking at You 
  • Hunting Meth Zombies in the Great Nebraskan Wasteland 
  • Elvisland 
  • Earthfall 
  • Like Father 
  • First Born 
  • Bloody Mary Morning 
  • A Few Words with the Author — Interview by Dave Roberts

John Farris became a best-selling writer the year he graduated from high school with the publication of his debut novel of the Harrison High series, and over 17 million copies of his books have sold across his prodigious career. Also a director, painter, and poet, he hails from Atlanta, Georgia, where he lives with his wife, Mary Ann.

Order your copy today!

Bloody Mary Morning by John Farris
Publication Date: September 22, 2022 
Suggested Retail Price: $17.95
Trade Paperback - 435 pages
ISBN-13: 979-8814184375
Dimensions: 6 x 1.087 x 9 inches

Contact us for wholesale inquiries

No comments:

Post a Comment